Home » Infrastructure » Unix » Wipro Uwin - Unix Simulator - Anybody worked (Wipro Uwin 2.9.1. , Oracle 10g)
Wipro Uwin - Unix Simulator - Anybody worked [message #409282] Sun, 21 June 2009 23:21 Go to next message
ashoka_bl

Hi All,

First of all let me tell you that I am really new to Unix and Uwin, I need to connect to Oracle database using Uwin.

Oracle Database is in : E:\DevSuiteHome_1\BIN\sqlplusw.exe

Uwin Installed at : "E:\Program Files\Uwin2.9.1\usr\bin\login.exe"

When I run the Uwin and execute SQLPlus command..It says "sqlplus : not found"

Do i need to install Uwin in Oracle Bin folder.

Regards,
Ashoka BL
devanampriya@gmail.com
Re: Wipro Uwin - Unix Simulator - Anybody worked [message #409312 is a reply to message #409282] Mon, 22 June 2009 02:12 Go to previous messageGo to next message
ThomasG
Quote:

Oracle Database is in : E:\DevSuiteHome_1\BIN\sqlplusw.exe

Wrong. That is NOT the "Oracle Database" that is just one of the windows client to connect to Oracle databases.

And since UWIn seems to be a Unix simulator, there is generally no way to "connect the UNIX OS" to Oracle. You can only run programs under Unix that connect to Oracle, like SQL*Plus for Unix for example.

You will have to install an Unix Oracle client under UWin I suppose. But since "UWin" is probably not a supported OS by Oracle, there is no way of knowing if it will work or not.

But since you have your terminology all jumbled up, I think you are trying to do something this complicated way which has a much simpler solution. What is your actual goal?
Re: Wipro Uwin - Unix Simulator - Anybody worked [message #409315 is a reply to message #409282] Mon, 22 June 2009 02:16 Go to previous messageGo to next message
ashoka_bl

@ThomasG,

Thanks for the information, I am learning Unix Shell scripting, I haven't installed UNIX in my Home PC, I thought i can learn Unix Commands with "Uwin".