Home » Developer & Programmer » Application Express, ORDS & MOD_PLSQL » Best way to install APEX v4 (Oracle Database 10.2.0.5 on Windows 2003)
Best way to install APEX v4 [message #503261] Wed, 13 April 2011 22:51 Go to next message
maxmixiv
Hello!

Sorry, it will be lengthy post.

I want to learn APEX technology.
As always, the using of the APEX seems to be much simpler than the installation and configuration.
I need help with installation!

First, I studied the manual "Application Express Installation Guide", and successfully "inserted" APEX into the db (by invoking apexins.sql script).
APEX is still unavailable from the browser, because (I believe):
Quote:
In order to run, Oracle Application Express must have access to Oracle Application Express Listener, the embedded PL/SQL gateway or Oracle HTTP Server and mod_plsql.

I chose to go with Application Express Listener, because we had IIS 6.0 and Apache 2.0 already installed on the server (listening on ports 80 and 8080), and I was afraid, that Oracle HTTP Server "will not fit" among those web servers.
QUESTION1: Was my choice wise, in terms of simplicity (perfomance, security, etc do not matter at this time)?

Unfortunately, "Oracle Application Express Listener Installation and Developer Guide" appeared very difficult to read for the person, who knows very little about Java. Sad
I will try to outline my problems:
This guide forces to choose among the following "things":

• - Oracle WebLogic Server 11g Release 1 (10.3.3) or higher
  • - Oracle GlassFish Server Release 3 or higher
  • - Oracle Containers for J2EE Release 10.1.3.4 or higher

WebLogic and GlassFish scared me, and I blindly chose "Oracle Containers for J2EE"(OC4J).
Then I learned, that I will need:

• Java 6 Update 20 JDK or higher
  • Java Servlet Specification 2.3 or higher

Regarding JDK, I found, that upgrade is needed (and I am stuck on how to upgrade it - WHY 10.2.0.5 patchset did not make this upgrade?)