Home » Server Options » RAC & Failsafe » can i just install CRS only If my OS is crash (windows server 2008 service pack 2 64bit)
can i just install CRS only If my OS is crash [message #562663] Fri, 03 August 2012 04:34 Go to next message
x-oracle
Hello,

we have RAC database on two node here on windows server 2008 unfortunately today morning my one my one node os crash its on windows server 2008 my other node its working ok so my database is accessible so i just want to ask if i install again this os on node -1 system so i just want to install only again crs only.because my database is accessible through my other node-2

please help me out because i am new in rac so
Re: can i just install CRS only If my OS is crash [message #562665 is a reply to message #562663] Fri, 03 August 2012 04:50 Go to previous messageGo to next message
John Watson
I don't see why you would need to install anything. Just boot up the node. And fix the OS so that it doesn't "crash" (whatever that means) again.
Re: can i just install CRS only If my OS is crash [message #562667 is a reply to message #562665] Fri, 03 August 2012 05:08 Go to previous messageGo to next message
x-oracle
actually when i try to upload some drives in this system this drivers are not installed successfully so i my system automatically crash and blue screen appear i cannot open this my os so i have to installed my os again may be so i just want to know if i again install os on this my node 1 server so i just only install crs only on node 1 server
Re: can i just install CRS only If my OS is crash [message #562670 is a reply to message #562667] Fri, 03 August 2012 05:17 Go to previous messageGo to next message
John Watson
It is a lot more complicated than that. You have to remove all references to the failed machine from the cluster, and then add the rebuilt machine to the cluster. This is not easy, and there is a real danger that you will break your one surviving node in the process.