Home » Other » General » Concern with Application team (Oracle 11.2.0.3 ,Linux 5)
Concern with Application team [message #599064] Tue, 22 October 2013 01:06 Go to next message
suhasdba
Hi,

I have a concern with application team. There is a seperate team for application and middleware and i am a core oracle DBA and often application team ask me to find out table name and user details, account details etc.. by just giving a specific value. I am not sure how to find table name and other details since there are many users and numerous tables in it. When i tell them that its not possible to find these details from database end by just knowing the value,app team is not convinced and they bounce back.

I am writing my concern here thinking that you seniors will help me on how to handle this scenario.

Thanks

[Updated on: Tue, 22 October 2013 01:13]

Report message to a moderator

icon3.gif  Re: Concern with Application team [message #599067 is a reply to message #599064] Tue, 22 October 2013 01:17 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Michel Cadot
Account Moderator

http://asktom.oracle.com/pls/asktom/f?p=100:11:0::::P11_QUESTION_ID:5203164092530

Re: Concern with Application team [message #599093 is a reply to message #599067] Tue, 22 October 2013 03:38 Go to previous messageGo to next message
ThomasG
What I have found to be a quicker way than doing a full-text search on the database in some form is to enable a trace on the dev/test environment, then let the devs access "their value" via the application, and look in the trace which tables / columns are accessed.

If they INSIST of you doing the full-text search. Well. A complete full-text search on an entire production-size database might easily take a few days. They need to know they either have the option to "think a few minutes" of "wait a few days for the brute-force approach" to get a result