Home » Other » General » System Access tasks assigned for DBAs (Others)
System Access tasks assigned for DBAs [message #684547] Sun, 27 June 2021 21:21 Go to next message
reym21

Gurus,

Good day!

As a junior DBA, I just want to ask or validate with you regarding a task which were delegated to us--
this is granting system access to end-users (based on their role/position) to most of our applications.
This is a module in our applications which we called 'Role Maintenance'.

DBAs will implement these so called "role mapping" by selecting/ticking a button or a box where various access/permissions
like "Search", "Modify", "Approve", "Save", "Print", etc. to be given/mapped as a role to specific user.
(Please see sample image).

My question is: was "role mapping/role maintenance" part of the job of Database Administrators?
Or is this for Systems Administrators? Or Application/Dev Team?

Thank you in advance.

Best regards,

/foru/forum/fa/14531/0/
Re: System Access tasks assigned for DBAs [message #684548 is a reply to message #684547] Mon, 28 June 2021 08:07 Go to previous messageGo to next message
John Watson
Well, someone has to take responsibility for this task. If you don't want to do it (any particular reason why not?) you had better discuss it with your manager.
Re: System Access tasks assigned for DBAs [message #684563 is a reply to message #684547] Tue, 29 June 2021 07:37 Go to previous messageGo to next message
reym21

Sir John,

Thanks for your prompt reply. This is already for discussion, but my manager is looking for basis.
I keep on justifying to my manager that said tasks are not for DBAs: application user role is different from a database user role.

The tone of your answer seems its appropriately for DBAs. Does our old existing standards correct-- that user "role mapping" should be implemented by DBAs?

Regards,