Home » Server Options » Data Guard » Physical Standby Implementation
Physical Standby Implementation [message #138428] Wed, 21 September 2005 23:00 Go to next message
malathi_c
Hi!

This is my first post.. I am new to oracle and I am up for the task of setting up a Data Guard configuration for failover operation..

I am trying to create a Physical standby database and I am not able to start the standby using a control file... Please help.

Also my client has requested automatic switch over, Is it possible?

When I try to use the Data Guard to configure my Physical Database ( Which for testing purposes, is planned to have onthe same machind as the Primary) gives me the error

'Dataguard remote process startup failed'

Please help me.!

Thanks
Malathi
Re: Physical Standby Implementation [message #138561 is a reply to message #138428] Thu, 22 September 2005 08:43 Go to previous messageGo to next message
kiran
Some related info is here at AskTom.

--Kiran.
Re: Physical Standby Implementation [message #140312 is a reply to message #138428] Mon, 03 October 2005 14:07 Go to previous messageGo to next message
smartin
Automatic failover is possible as a new feature in 10gR2.

Also the oracle guide on data guard, at least 10g, is quite good, and pretty much gives step by steps.
Re: Physical Standby Implementation [message #140376 is a reply to message #140312] Mon, 03 October 2005 22:42 Go to previous messageGo to next message
malathi_c
Thanks a Lot!

I have set up my Standby database and I can also see the log files getting applied... Phew that was quite a job for me...

Well... My implementation is going to be on Oracle 9i, OS- Windows NT, so I need a way to do an automatic failover..

One more question.. My client requires that the database be open for reading as well as writing.. Can this be done on a Physical Standby? Else do I have to setup a Logical Standby?

ALso they want notification through email when the primary is down.. Any inputs are greatly appreciated.