Home » RDBMS Server » Networking and Gateways » setup oracle server.
setup oracle server. [message #147804] Mon, 21 November 2005 03:12 Go to next message
matrik02
I am still new with oracle database.i want to connect the database store at server from my client pc using TCP/IP .For example the database server located at my head Office in Australia and I want to connect the database server from my client pc .I am now in Malaysia.So what should i do to connect the database server?
Re: setup oracle server. [message #147826 is a reply to message #147804] Mon, 21 November 2005 05:10 Go to previous messageGo to next message
tarundua

Read the documentation to configure tnsnames.ora file on the Client side and listener.ora on the Server side .

And then post back the specific problem.

Re: setup oracle server. [message #149640 is a reply to message #147804] Fri, 02 December 2005 10:02 Go to previous messageGo to next message
gkrishn
*)Install client(SQL plus) on ur machine
*)make use of network config tool to configure Network name service (this will create TNSname.ora file ) in ur client machine.
*)same tool you can you have the option to test the connection to server.

*)if everythin is fine, just try connecting from SQL plus ,entering username/password/hostname (Network service name).

Let me know the results .

--Rajiv
Re: setup oracle server. [message #149649 is a reply to message #149640] Fri, 02 December 2005 11:20 Go to previous messageGo to next message
matrik02
Thank for you reply.I want to know where i can get the Network name service ?It is refer to the database instance name during the installation in server machine ?
icon7.gif  Re: setup oracle server. [message #149652 is a reply to message #147804] Fri, 02 December 2005 11:28 Go to previous messageGo to next message
gkrishn
No, its some config needed in client side.